Tomato Soup

How great are tomatoes? If you would like to leave an answer in the form of an ode to tomatoes, please do. I love tomatoes in all forms, all shapes, colours and sizes and I really think that I would die on my student budget without canned tomatoes. This meant that I was very excited when I saw a recipe for the best ever tomato soup as part of A Cup of Jo’s basic food series. I’m not gonna lie, I have rather fond memories of Tomato Cup-a-Soup, but I thought that it was high time I tried the real deal.

I like to organise things in pretty rows, yes I do! Anywho, this recipe looked super and Mum had quite a few tomatoes left from the garden that needed using up, so away I went. If anyone thinks that using beautiful veggies in soups is a waste, come at me bro! I think that it is a lovely way to showcase vegetables and this is no exception.Rich and full of flavour, brimming with tomatoeyness! Just like eating a whole lot of tomatoes (something, coincidentally, that I quite like to do, with a sprinkling of sea salt). If you have tomatoes around, do make this soup, it’s the just the trick for these colder nights.

 

Best Ever Tomato Soup Adapted slightly from this recipe on A Cup of Jo

 

Serves 4

2 pounds/900g of fresh tomatoes

4 garlic cloves (skins on)

2 onions cut in half

2 Tbs olive oil

2 tsp dried basil

1 Tbs balsamic vinegar

1/4 Cup of red wine

2 tsp honey

3 Cups water

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 200°C. Slice the tomatoes in half and place them on an oven tray lined with baking paper. Drizzle with 1 Tbs olive oil

Place halved onions and garlic cloves (with skins on) on another oven tray lined with baking paper. Drizzle with the other half of the olive oil and season well with salt and pepper. Place both trays of vegetables in the oven and roast until tender, about 20-30 minutes.

Remove trays from the oven and allow to cool slightly. Place tomatoes and onions in a blender (or in a saucepan if you use a stick blender like I do), squeeze out the garlic from its skin and add that too with the dried basil, water, honey, red wine and balsamic. Blend to your desired consistency. Adjust seasonings to taste.

Warm soup in a saucepan over medium heat, ladle into bowls and serve with cheese on toast.

 

 

 

Tagged ,

what do you think?

