Sunday Dinner For One

A few weekends ago I was housesitting for Mum and Dad. Mum said that she would leave me something nice to cook up for my dinner and pay me in gingercrunch, now that’s a good deal! When I got to their house there was a lovely piece of salmon waiting in the fridge for me. I am a huge fan of salmon- the beautiful colour, the richness, packed full of omega-3 goodness- brillo! In fact I think someone needs to write an ode to salmon.

Usually I just fry the salmon until just cooked (hopefully!) but I wanted to try something different this time and something that would perfume the salmon with lots of flavour.

These are the flavours that took my fancy. I’m obsessed with thyme and wanted to know whether it would work with salmon, lemons are an obvious choice with fish and I chose spring onions for a delicate onion flavour.I decided to try baking the salmon in foil, something I’ve wanted to try for a long time. I love the idea of wrapping up little flavour filled parcels and getting to open them at the end of cooking time. This did not disappoint at all. The salmon was imbued with sweet thyme, a very subtle onion flavour and some tang from the lemon. It was so good, I can’t wait to cook salmon this way again.

To go with the salmon I wanted something along the lines of mashed potato. I’ve wanted to try mashed broadbeans for aaaages and they are damn fine!

Oven baked Salmon with Broadbean mash

Preheat oven to 180°C. Take a piece of foil large enough to wrap up your salmon, drizzle some olive oil on it then place your  salmon on it with flavourings, season well with salt and pepper. Bake in the oven for 20 mins, or until just cooked.

For the broadbean mash. Take frozen broadbeans and add them to a well salted pot of boiling water. Cook for a couple of minutes, drain and pod (so much fun!). Put them back in the pot with about 50g of feta and some chopped mint. Mash to your desired consistency.

Tagged ,

what do you think?

